Friday, May 21, 2010


Grief may be a thing we all have in common, but it looks different on everyone.
It isn't just death we have to grieve. It's life. It's loss. It's change.
And when we wonder why it has to suck so much sometimes .. has to hurt so bad.
The thing we gotta try to remember is that it can turn on a dime. That's how you stay alive. When it hurts so much you can't breathe, that's how you survive. By remembering that one day, somehow, impossibly, you won't feel this way. It won't hurt this much.
Grief comes in its own time for everyone, in its own way. So the best we can do, the best anyone can do, is try for honesty.
The really crappy thing, the very worst part of grief is that you can't control it.
The best we can do is try to let ourselves feel it when it comes. And let it go when we can.
The very worst part is that the minute you think you're past it, it starts all over again. And always, every time, it takes your breath away.
There are five stages of grief. They look different on all of us, but there are always five.
I denied... couldn't believe!
I was at rage..and revolting!
I had bargains in my head...
I got depressed..
and the worst of them all, is the acceptance phase, where I'm accepting being part of the ebb and flow of life! I'm accepting what's happening, I'm accepting to wake up with a dim look in my eyes, and grief is my company, and aches are a daily ritual now... ! You stop interacting with the universe anymore.. You're just surviving in your own, unsure way... which truly is not a's just acceptance! Acceptance is the climax of the loss of hope!
(p.s. coloured words above, quoted from Grey's Anatomy)


Sherif said...

For the past number of posts, everything you wrote seems to have been .. well, seems to have been what i want to say ..

especially the dim look in the eyes ..

Helium Atom said...

shu know, they blamed me once I said that life had driven me insane... in vain!!!